Rockin’ a Remnant: an ottoman makeover

Because we have three still fairly young children, we have leather living room furniture. It has seen better days since it is now eight-ish years old but it has survived a lot of baby puke, formula, crayons, and other rights of childhood passage.  The couch survived well as did a leather ottoman until…my youngest daughter found a tiny tear and did this:

Bad, right?

Bad, right?

So, I had this big piece of what I think is sailcloth. I have already cut some of it for bags but I had a decent sized rectangle left. It was big enough to cover the top of the ottoman so I went for it.

I folded the edges over twice and sewed.

Pretty seams

Pretty seams

I then measured and decided that each corner needed 2.5″ triangle to create the edges.

Measured and pinned!

Measured and pinned!

Sewed along the line.

Sewed along the line.

Then, I realized that I didn’t square it to the bottom edge…oops. I had to sew it again and rip out the crooked line.

Sewing a line perpendicular to the bottom edge.

Sewing a line perpendicular to the bottom edge.

 

image

Turned out well for a very quick, easy project. Cheap, quick and makes a BIG difference!

Much better!

Much better!

image

Never pass up a great piece of fabric in the remnant bargain bin! You never know when it will come in handy!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

