My Space

I have a big year planned and in order to accomplish my goals, I needed a workspace revamp! I have to admit, I was a little shaky on sharing my cleaning up here on my blog. Do you ever look at those studio spaces on Etsy or on a blog and think…yeah right…I wish. We don’t have remotely that much space in our house and I do not have that kind of organizational mojo. I share our home office space with my musician husband…halfsies. There is no brightly lit studio haven like in a magazine, just us and our favorite stuff. But, writing this post I’ve realized that my space really does represent me and my process. Take a look!

Ugh...can't believe I'm showing this!

Ugh…can’t believe I’m showing this!

Let’s just say that my new machine needed to move off the dining room table into it’s proper home!  Unfortunately, after the Christmas rush, this is what my space looked like. Ugh.

I'm pretty sure only upcyclers have stuff like this in their fabric stash!

I’m pretty sure only upcyclers have stuff like this in their fabric stash!

 

So, here’s the new and improved version… LOTS of books. I like to read, I love to write. My cool “create” sign from Pangaea in Nashville. If you’re ever in town — go there! My weird paper origami thingee I made. My weirdo taste in music is represented — Eels, Patsy Cline and Duran Duran. Pictures of my family, random Day of the Dead stuff, a couple awards and all my sewing stuff!

Gotta love Craigslist!  Snagged the wicker drawers for $20!

Gotta love Craigslist! Snagged the wicker drawers for $20!

Gotta love Pinterest... using a shower caddy for accessories!

Gotta love Pinterest… using a shower caddy for accessories!

Drawers filled with bits and pieces of clothing. Upcycle!

Drawers filled with bits and pieces of clothing. Upcycle!

And lots of Interfacing!

And lots of Interfacing!

Scrappy strips for making fabric twine!

Scrappy strips for making fabric twine!

Had this since I was in high school...sums up my beliefs nicely. If it's worth doing, do it all the way!

Had this since I was in high school…sums up my beliefs nicely. If it’s worth doing, do it all the way!

The patterns I've created...all in one place!

The patterns I’ve created…all in one place!

 

So, what’s the point? Well, you can see where I work and I just wanted to put out there that your space should be just that YOUR space. What does your space say about you?

 

Leave a Reply

